London Heritage Awards

March 2021

Architectural Conservancy Ontario – London Region
Heritage London Foundation

are proud to host the 14th annual London Heritage Awards in partnership with Museum London.

The London Heritage Awards are given out each year by ACO London and HLF in recognition of outstanding leadership excellence in heritage conservation across the London region. Notable past recipients include Wes Kinghorn, Ann and David Lindsay, and Vintage London, and structures such as the London Normal School, The Unity Project, London Roundhouse, and the Clock Tower Inn in Strathroy as well as many private homes throughout the London region.

This awards program seeks to recognize individuals and organizations from either the private or public sector who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to the conservation of London’s built heritage. Nominees may be proposed for their long-term dedication to the cause, for a single outstanding effort that made a notable difference, for strong leadership and vision in educating the public, or for actions that have brought about a positive outcome for built heritage in our city and region. The awards also seek to honour projects that have actually preserved part of our built heritage. The awards will therefore be given in three broad categories:

  1. To volunteers in the fields of education, awareness, or advocacy.
  2. Projects that have preserved built heritage.
  3. Professionals, who were crucial to the success of a project or who have gone above and beyond their professional role.

The number of awards given each year will be at the discretion of the Awards Committee.

How to Nominate

Any person may make a nomination. To do so, please fill in the online nomination form. The list of award categories and the evaluation criteria that the committee will use can be found on this page as well.

Deadline for nominations is Sunday, November 1st, 2020

Awards presentation

Ideally the awards will be presented at a live ceremony to be held in March 2021 at Museum London for our 14th annual celebration. London property owners receiving heritage designation plaques will also be recognized at this event.

If future COVID-19 pandemic rules dictate, the awards will be given out instead at a virtual ceremony. Information about the ceremony will be available on this Web site in early January 2021.


Watch this space for when ticket sales go online.

About the organizers

Architectural Conservancy Ontario – London Region (ACO London) is a volunteer-driven advocacy organization founded over 50 years ago with the threatened destruction of London’s original financial buildings, the Ridout Street Complex, now a National Historic Site. ACO London is committed to conserving London’s heritage architecture through advocacy and education. We support and encourage architectural conservation through reuse and repurposing of older buildings, the creation of Heritage Conservation Districts to protect our historic neighbourhoods, and the active retention and maintenance of London’s unique history as embodied by its built heritage.

Heritage London Foundation (HLF) is an innovative charitable organization founded in 1981 that advocates for the preservation of significant heritage properties. Created when the wrecker’s ball was rapidly destroying many of London’s architectural treasures, Heritage London Foundation now provides viable contemporary uses for two beautiful properties, the Elsie Perrin Williams Estate and Grosvenor Lodge.